RSS

Sixth Time’s a Charm

05 Feb

I watched Doctor Who on TV religiously as a child. As a consequence this means that I’m more familiar with Colin Baker than Tom Baker, but it hasn’t stopped me from venturing backwards and forwards along The Doctor’s timeline over the years. It was a shame that Colin wasn’t willing/able to film his regeneration scene at the time, so I’m glad to hear that Big Finish will be producing an audio adventure in order to fill in the gaps leading up to Sylvester McCoy grasping the reins.

I don’t mind that it’s taken so long for this retrospective bit of story telling to be told. After all, I waited patiently to see Paul McGann become John Hurt so long gaps between points of continuity aren’t exactly new to the world of this time travelling face changer.

The Big Finish stories provide very high quality fan service, creating long story arcs and a focus on minutia that a 45 minute, prime time TV show isn’t really geared up for. Nowadays the personality of the grumpy Peter Capaldi isn’t all that different from the brash, arrogant Sixth Doctor but hopefully the show will keep it’s mainstream appeal. However, when I want to geek-out for a few hours, I can always pop my headphones on.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 5, 2015 in Sci Fi, TV

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Sixth Time’s a Charm

  1. Alastair Savage

    February 6, 2015 at 8:11 am

    I always thought that Colin Baker had real potential as the Sixth Doctor but that the scripts and that stupid costume let him down. When he was forced out by senior management, I felt he was being made the fall guy for other people’s mistakes. My personal favourite of his is The Two Doctors, which is a lot of fun and packed with actors from other Sci-Fi series like Quatermass and the Pit and Blake’s Seven (which Colin also appeared in once).

     

Leave a Reply

 
