RSS

Older Still

29 May

“You’re older than you’ve ever been… and now you’re even older…” goes the song by They Might Be Giants. I’ve been celebrating my birthday whilst on holiday for several years now. In fact, I’d probably have to get a calendar out to determine the last time my birthday fell on a day when I was in England. Actually, since I’ve asked myself out loud at least twice today what the date is… maybe keeping track of time just isn’t my thing.

After a breakfast consisting of more cinnamon rolls and very black coffee (like the day before) I reverted to a psychologically 8 year old state for present opening, which has never lost its appeal. Although now I’m older I do clear up the wrapping paper and recycle it, which I never did when I was actually 8 years old. As well as some funky shaving accessories, the Sock Mistress gave me a Kobo Mini eReader, which I’m going to enjoy greatly. Although I have a Kindle already, the Kobo Mini is much smaller and will be travelling with me whilst the Kindle will live on top of my bedside drawers.

Since the weather has been changeable this week, I hadn’t made any particular plans to go too far off the beaten track today – just to shop and eat my way around Helsinki. This turned out to be exactly the right thing to do, from Stockmann’s department store and the Swedish Theatre café to the Virgin Oil Company restaurant, for cocktails and (massive) pizzas! If you can’t be self-indulgent on your birthday, then you just need to learn how to work harder at it. Being on holiday as well just makes things even better, and we’re only halfway through the first week!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 29, 2014 in Holidays

 

Leave a Reply

 
