RSS

Christmas Reading

14 Dec

As Christmas rolls ever nearer and the holiday break readies itself to kick in, I need to set myself a reading list to fill out my down-time (in between all that mince pie eating and merry making). At the moment I’m about 80% of the way through Lee Child’s third Jack Reacher book ‘Tripwire.’ It’s a good story, but brute force and vigilante justice don’t really shout out ‘festive spirit’ to me.

I could re-visit ‘The Silmarillion.’ which I go back to every few years, but having only just seen the ‘Lord of the Rings’ movies I don’t really feel a strong urge to retread the path to Middle Earth just yet. A good biography might be enjoyable and people as different as Sir Roger Moore and Sammy Hagar have life stories that appeal to me. I’ve also had my eye on David Law’s ’22 Days in May’ for a while as well.

I will probably make my third visit to Hogworts this year and download ‘Prisoner of Azkaban.’ I’m also rereading Stephen King’s Dark Tower series for the squillionth time and ‘Song of Suzannah’ is calling to me from some distant level of The Tower. If I go back enough times, one day I believe that final chapter of the final book will end differently…

However, all these rich and fabulous fantasy worlds may end up waiting in line behind some good gruesome fun like Tonia Brown’s ‘Badass Zombie Roadtrip,’ so you never know… What is most unlikely is that I’ll end up reading a book about Christmas at Christmas, although saying that, last year I really enjoyed reading through a Kindle compilation of The Queen’s Christmas speeches. They’re a fascinating thermometer reading of British history across the years.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Books, Xmas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
