RSS

Windows 8

29 Oct

This weekend I took the plunge and upgraded my laptop from Windows 7 to Windows 8. Horror stories in the tech news reported that the OS was a halfway house, satisfying neither touch screen users or mouse/keyboard wielders. Undeterred, I pressed on, looking forward to the promised improvement in performance and battery life – without the hassle of a hardware upgrade.

Backing up my system and files onto an external hard drive took up most of the afternoon, then I went online to purchase my update. £25 is affordable and the installation assistant checked out my laptop to confirm that I had an adequate spec. machine. It then listed all the software that was compatible with 8 (74 of 90) and those that needed a downloadable update first (all but 7 applications would work under Windows 8).

The download took an hour and a half, the following installation took about the same. After logging in with a Hotmail account my start screen sprang to life, showing brightly coloured tiles for my mail, news, weather reports and such like. I like the new layout, very familiar to Windows phone users but popping back to the Windows 7 style desktop is a little jarring. It’ll take a while to get ‘under the bonnet’ and understand the new features, but so far the transition from Windows 7 to Windows 8 has been pain-free.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in Equipment, Technology

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
