RSS

Do I Not Like This?

26 May

image

Today was laundry day, which instinctively feels wrong on a holiday but the choice was to pack twice as much and not wash clothes or to travel light and nip to the laundrette. Luckily, the apartments we’re in have clothes washing facilities and all machinery is labelled in English. There are only a few things I don’t like about Helsinki. Cars being able to turn right on red being one of them as I have enough trouble crossing the road as it is. Another thing is the general failure of most Helsinki men to understand the principal that ‘ladies go first’ through doorways. It makes many gentlemen seem ungentlemanly when they dash through a door that’s being held open. However, there are many more things that I like. The large space given to cyclists always makes me wish I had my Brompton with me. Also, the number of small islands just off the near coastline makes short boat trips an excellent way to spend the day. Gazing out over the expansive horizon from Suomenlinna is truly breath taking, if there’s a better place for a picnic, I can’t think of one!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2012 in Holidays, Inspiration, Outdoors, Washing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Do I Not Like This?

  1. catastrophicfindings

    May 28, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    1) I can’t believe you’ve got a Brompton! My dream bike! 2) You have full access to all things Moomin! Dead jealous! 3) I want to go to Finland — have you been to Moomin World?

     
    • Sockymon

      May 29, 2012 at 6:47 am

      The Brompton is for commuting to work on the train, but I’m sure I could get it on a plane as hand luggage. Never been to Moomin World, but I have been to the Moomin Museum in Tampere.

       

Leave a Reply

 
