RSS

Spuds–U–Like

30 Aug

After a (mostly) warm summer, there’s been a mixture of successes and failures in the greenhouse.  Successes include, my potatoes and spring onion – which both turned out very well.  On the flip side, my gherkins dried up after a particularly hot day and never really looked like they could be revitalised.  The herb garden has also continued to be a success and has been tucked into plenty of times for salads and such like. 

Growing very enthusiastically are my watermelons – no idea what I’m going to do with these if they start to bear fruit, but they’ve reached the flowering stage so I should really read up on these…  I’ve also hung my gourds over a trellis, which has given them a second lease of life (they looked a bit droopy at one point) and there should be plenty of the things ready for turning into decorations by the time Halloween rolls around. 

Speaking of darker months, September is just around the corner, so I’m sure there must be something I should be doing to prepare myself (not that I want to give the impression that I’m a haphazard gardener or anything…)  However, since this is my first year growing veg I’d be happy with anything that I could actually grow, so if I can pull anything out of the ground before Winter strikes, it’ll be a bonus.

MySpuds

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2011 in Gardening, Inspiration, Outdoors

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
